Project 2 Event Ad

P2VirginiaKatherineFlores-page-001

  1. Description: This is an Event Ad to promote a book drive at Lincoln Elementary School.
  2. Process (Programs, Tools, Skills, FOCUS principles):I scanned the image of the Orchid and then used Microsoft Word to create this Ad. I decided to put the whole image as my background. I chose the decorative font Eccentric because I felt it fit with the school theme of my Ad. Also because it is rarely used. I aligned the date, time and place in the center of the colored circles on the top lefthand side. Then I decided to align the bottom left body copy with the basket that the orchids are in.  I worked very hard to get the right alignment for all of my Ad. The original image had the colored circles on the left hand side. All the programs I used: Microsoft Word 2011, Epson Scanner,PDF2JPG.Net (PDF Converter).
  3. Message: The message is to invite everyone of all ages to join the Orchid festival by donating money to the St. Joseph Children Orphanage.
  4. Audience: Everyone in the community. Children and Adults.
  5. Color scheme and color names: Split Complementary with Green, Violet, and Brick.
  6. Top Thing Learned: When I began this project I  thought it was going to be easy because it was on Microsoft Word. What I learned from this project was the many effects Word has to offer that I never knew about. I learned to work with color and a full bleed image.
  7. Title Font Name & Category: Eccentric STD; Decorative
  8. Copy Font Name & Category: BiauKai; Slab Serif
  9. Scanned images used, sources, original sizes, location of scanner used
    • Flower and Magazine – March 2016
    • Original size –  8.5″ by 11″
    • Scanner located at the Commons in the McKay Library.

P2AVirginiaFlores (1)

 

5 comments

  1. Well I really enjoyed your piece. It’s very put together. It flows very nicely and I love the colors. They’re bright and exciting. I especially like how simple it is. But it still has all the information on it.

    Like

  2. Hey Vicky! First of all, I really like how you used the image to your advantage, specifically in regards to using the circles on the side to put information in. I also really like your title, the decorative font works really well without being distracting or hard to read. Another minor thing I really liked were the colored circles right below the title. Great job on this!

    Like

Leave a Reply

